Pack 412's
Home Page
About Us
Upcoming Events
Adult Leaders
Parent Resources
Leader Resources

Cub Scout Pack 412
(Monrovia, Alabama)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

Religious Emblems

A Scout is reverent. He is reverent toward God. He is faithful in his religious duties and respects the convictions of others in matters of custom and religion.

To encourage members to grow stronger in their faith, religious groups have developed the following religious emblems programs. The Boy Scouts of America has approved of these programs and allows the emblems to be worn on the official uniform. The various religious groups administer the programs. Check with your local council service center or contact the religious organization directly to obtain the curriculum booklets.

  Religious Emblems, cloth, silver knot on purple, No. 05007, may be worn by youth or adult members who earned the knot as a youth member, above left pocket. Each faith has its own requirements for earning its emblem. A knot device may be used to indicate during which level of Scouting the award was earned. This award may be earned by all registered Tiger, Wolf, Bear, and Webelos Scouts.

  Adult Religious award, cloth, purple knot on silver, No. 05014, may be worn by adult members presented with the recognition, above left pocket. Adults may wear both knots if they satisfy qualifying criteria. Presented for faithful service while an adult leader

Leave No Trace

Leave No Trace is a plan that helps people to be more concerned about their environment and to help them protect it for future generations. Cub Scouts and their leaders may earn the Leave No Trace Awareness Award.  Leave No Trace applies in a backyard or local park (frontcountry) as much as it does in the wilderness (backcountry).
We should practice Leave No Trace in our attitude and actions--wherever we go. Understanding nature strengthens our respect toward the environment. One person with thoughtless behavior or one shortcut on a trail can spoil the outdoor experience for others.

Help protect the environment by remembering that while you are there, you are a visitor. When you visit the outdoors, take special care of the area. Leave everything just as you find it.

Hiking and camping without a trace are signs of a considerate outdoorsman who cares for the environment. Travel lightly on the land.

Cub Scout Leave No Trace Pledge
I promise to practice the Leave No Trace frontcountry guidelines wherever I go:
  1. Plan ahead.
  2. Stick to trails.
  3. Manage your pet.
  1. Leave what you find.
  2. Respect other visitors.
  3. Trash your trash.

Recruiter Strip

The Recruiter Strip is awarded to Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts and is worn below the right pocket on the uniform. This award may be earned by all registered Tiger, Wolf, Bear, and Webelos Scouts.

There are NO formal requirements for these strips. Each Unit establishes the procedure for awarding the strip. Usually, a Recruiter Strip is awarded to a Cub Scout or Boy Scout the first time he is successful in getting a friend, relative, classmate, or other acquaintance to join his unit.

Polar Bear Award

    Although many Councils offer special award programs for cold weather camping, there are no national standards for such awards. The availability of such an award program is determined by local Councils along with the requirements (which vary widely). Similarly, the name of the award is determined by your local Council. "Polar Bear Award" probably is the most common name. Some other names include:
  • Zero Hero
  • Frostbite Camping Award (Del-Mar-Va Council)
  • Frosty Award
  • 100-below Award

Adult Leader Awards

Cub Scout Leader Recognition awards are available to Cub Scout leaders who complete training, tenure, and performance requirements. These awards are presented by the local council. All of the awards require the completion of Fast Start Training, Basic Leader Training for the position, Youth Protection training, and participation in roundtables or a pow wow or University of Scouting. Some require additional supplemental training. One or two years of registered service in the appropriate position is a requirement for each award, and tenure used for one award may not be used for another.

Note that Cub Scout Leader Awards may be worn by Boy Scout, Varsity, and Venturing leaders. Also Cub Scouts Leaders may qualify for a number of other award knots: Youth Awards, Leadership Awards, Honor Awards, Religious Awards, James West, Lifesaving - Meritorious Awards.

  u, cloth, orange and black knot on gold, No. 17688. Recognizes Tiger Cub Den Leaders for at least one year of service, training, and meeting quality program objectives.

  Cub Scout Den Leader Award, cloth, gold knot on blue, No. 05016. Recognizes Wolf and Bear Cub Den Leaders for at least one year of service, training, and meeting quality program objectives.

  Webelos Den Leader Award, cloth, gold knot on yellow, No. 05064. Recognizes Webelos Den Leaders for at least one year of service, training, and meeting quality program objectives.

  Unit Leader Award of Merit, cloth, gold knot on blue, No. 610091 Recognizes Cubmasters, Scoutmasters, Varsity Coachs and Venturing Crew Advisors for at least 18 months of service, training and meeting quality program objectives. Award can be earned multiple times and is represented with the appropriate device.

  Cubmaster Award, cloth, blue knot on yellow, No. 05022. Recognizes Cubmasters for at least two years of service, training, and meeting quality program objectives.

  Cub Scouter Award, cloth, blue and gold knot on dark blue, No. 05017. The Cub Scouter Award recognizes an adult leader registered in a Cub Scout pack for at least two years, who meets specific training, and meeting quality program objectives.

  Pack Trainer Award, cloth, royal blue and bright yellow on yellow background. The Pack Trainer Award is for a registered Cub Scout pack trainer who meets specific service, training, and quality program objectives.